Now that we’ve addressed the unnecessary war on pores, we should note that there’s a difference between encouraging healthy pores and erasing them entirely. You see, pores can appear larger for a variety of reasons (we’ll explain in a moment), and when your pores expand, breakouts and irritation often aren’t too far behind. So, yes, those “pore minimizing” products do serve a purpose—and below, we’ve rounded up the ones that actually work. What customers say:  Multiple users use the words “holy grail” and “magic in a bottle” to describe this Paula’s Choice formula. Just take this rave review: “It really is like magic. I’ve been using this every evening for just over a week…my skin looks so much younger already…helped my pores so much, skin tone is a lot better.” mbg’s deputy commerce editor, Braelyn Wood, even swears it’s the secret to her smooth, blemish-free skin: “I feel like my skin absorbs other products better, likely due to the reduction in excess oil. My tinted moisturizer also glides on easier, and I don’t have to powder away the appearance of my pores,” she notes. What customers say:  Despite its purifying properties, this gel-cleanser remains gentle on the skin, and users agree. “My skin is extremely dry, and this cleanser did not dry my skin out at all. It left it soft and hydrated. I am hooked!” one shopper notes, and another specifically notes a reduction in clogged pores. “This is a gentle cleanser that doesn’t strip. I also noticed a reduction in sebaceous filaments!” they write.  What customers say:  Reviewers love the weightless texture and how it seamlessly blends with their makeup. “Feels great under the foundation, no creasing. Feels great on my sensitive skin,” one customer writes, and another comments on the hydrating and lightweight jelly texture. Prepare for a “sheer-like glow,” another user mentions.  What customers say:  I’m certainly not alone in my Kosas obsession. After all, customers practically begged for this product after so many used their cult-favorite Revealer Concealer as their base. And the foundation version does not disappoint: “This is the most beautiful, dewy, skin-like foundation I have ever used,” one reviewer writes. “I have dry, sensitive skin and I don’t think I will ever go back to a different foundation for everyday wear. Not only is this beautiful [but] it is one of the most consistent products I’ve used—even if you don’t prep your skin perfectly (although it helps if you do), this foundation will still look so beautiful and effortless.”  What customers say:  Over 5,000 reviewers sing the praises of this beloved Sunday Riley Serum—and the majority agree that the hype is very much real. “I got a sample of this months ago and at first, I was very skeptical about the product,” one reviewer writes. “I thought it was over-hyped and too pricey for what it was, but when I finally tried it, I was in awe. I have combo skin with very large, clogged pores. This instantly plumped my skin and gave it a beautiful radiance. I use it at night so that when I wake up in the morning, my pores look clean and visibly smaller because they aren’t as clogged.” How’s that for a glowing review?  What customers say:  This rave review says it all, so I’ll just leave it here: “The results after washing this clay mask off was certainly shocking. First of all, the fragrance is minimal, expected of a face mask, and the texture is smooth and thick, which makes for an easy spread. After 10 to 15 minutes when it dries, it turns from an orange shade to a milky sage color and becomes hard to the touch. It’s easy to take off, and when the face is pat dry, the smoothness of the skin and lack of noticeable porous texture is pretty stunning. Now, this isn’t going to take away texture, but what I found was that on my cheeks where the pore is quite visible, had looked to be cleaned and therefore not as noticeable.” What customers say:  While some reviewers are not a fan of the scent (if you don’t like watermelon, this is not the product for you), countless customers appreciate the toner’s glow-inducing properties. “I just purchased my third bottle of this,” one shopper says. “It really does a great job of moisturizing but very gently exfoliating and keeping your pores clear. It does help add a glow to your skin.”  What customers say:  Rouleau is known for her potent, high-quality formulas that work almost instantly, and this perfecting serum certainly fits the bill. Comb through the pages of reviews, and you’ll be sure to find numerous love notes, like this blurb: “This changed my skin for the better. I can definitely say this has helped my skin more than anything. My pores are cleared up and my texture is almost not existent. I definitely make sure I always have a backup of this.” While you can’t exactly change the pores you were born with, a few factors can influence their size over time—weather, humidity, and air pollution, as well as lifestyle choices like diet can all affect their appearance. Not to mention, some people notice them enlarge as they age, too. That’s where pore minimizers come into play, as certain ingredients can purify pores and “shrink” them down to their baseline size. “There are certain ingredients that can minimize the look of pores—namely my good friends tretinoin or retinol, and acids (alpha-, beta-, and polyhydroxy)—by helping the pore shed itself of excess sebum and keratin,” Fishman adds. Clays, too, can help draw out excess oil and grime clogging up the pores, which can make them appear smaller. Just make sure you don’t dry out your skin too much, which will only trigger more oil production—the opposite of what you want when trying to minimize pores. If you’re looking to shrink pores fast, you can also rely on makeup to create a film over your skin and “blur” the look of enlarged pores. Think mattifying primers and cushiony foundations that work to smooth skin texture and create a featherlight, satin finish. Some makeup formulas even play double duty, featuring pore-minimizing ingredients (like niacinamide) to simultaneously tighten enlarged pores and cover up their appearance. At the end of the day, though, your pore size is permanent, and you can’t change their appearance forever. Nor should you want to! Skin is meant to have texture, contrary to what Photoshopped ads and editing tools may have you believe. Brands themselves are even starting to move away from “poreless” or “flawless” skin marketing (and we believe that’s a very good thing), but if you want to achieve a smoother surface, these picks are a great start. That said, stick to one class of ingredients below when you make your decision:

Pore vacuums, on the other hand, are a major no in at-home skin care. These tools promise to suction all the gunk from your skin, but they can seriously traumatize the skin if you’re not careful. Best to steer clear. 

The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 18The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 6The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 61The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 75The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 50The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 18The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 63The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 47The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 93The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 46The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 3The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 89The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 41The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 90The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 80The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 61The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 80The 8 Best Pore Minimizers Of 2023 For Silky Smooth Skin - 49