Among those trigger foods? Gluten. I’m considered “gluten sensitive,” which doesn’t fall under the clinical umbrella of celiac disease, so I don’t face as dire consequences as someone with celiac. But I figured the best way to find out exactly how gluten was affecting my body would be to cut it all out and see what happened. I was focused. I’d given up my beloved morning toast; I was finding a greater love for fruits and veggies. And after a few weeks, I started to notice positive changes: I had more energy, I stopped feeling bloated all the time, my stomach didn’t ache, and my skin started to clear up. Cutting gluten out of my diet wasn’t a reaction to a skin issue, but what a lovely surprise this turned out to be! About 75 percent of my blemishes, redness, and swelling had diminished. My skin wasn’t completely clear, but there was a big improvement. And the only thing I’d changed was my diet. No new creams or scrubs or cleansers: just omitting gluten and upping my intake of whole, natural foods. Gliadin is a component of gluten and is found in wheat and other cereals. It’s essential for giving bread the ability to rise properly, and it’s also the culprit behind celiac disease: The proteins activate the disease and the body responds via intolerance and rejection of gliadin (and in turn, gluten). The reaction? Inflammation. Since we know that the gut and skin are inextricably linked (dubbed the “gut-skin axis”), it makes sense why this inflammation would result in acne for me. In fact, research has found that more than half of all acne sufferers also have gut issues. I knew I was sensitive to gluten, yet I consumed it anyway (hey, those protein bars and pre-packaged meals are handy!). Not only was I putting myself at risk for an inflamed small intestine, but also inflamed and irritated skin. Before my own experience with omitting gluten, I didn’t know how inflammatory it was in terms of my skin. It wasn’t until after I noticed some serious results on my face that I realized the havoc gluten was wreaking on my complexion. You know the saying, “You are what you eat”? There’s honesty in that phrase. Read: More anti-inflammatory, antioxidant-rich, fiber-fueled foods meant less inflammation in my gut—and less blemishes down the road. High-fat, water-dense produce helped support supple, plump skin. Living off coffee and cupcakes wasn’t giving my body a chance to show me what it can do. Tasty, but not helpful or healthful. A few helpful tips that worked for me:

Can Gluten Cause Acne  Here s How I Realized It Did For Me - 98Can Gluten Cause Acne  Here s How I Realized It Did For Me - 2Can Gluten Cause Acne  Here s How I Realized It Did For Me - 47